Ben Runchey’s Integration Dev Blog

a.k.a Ben’s spot to put stuff he does not want to forget

What I Learned Yesterday 7

  • It has been a while since I have had to really go at things using T-SQL.  Lots of my recent experiences have been around CRUD type operations where we would read the data into an object model work on it and then save it back to the database.  But I am working on a project where we are loading a temp table and then inserting/updating records into another table.  To get the identity columns of the newly inserted or newly updated records the OUTPUT keyword in T-SQL is a life saver.   This is only available in SQL Server 2005/2008 though.  This link here is a good overview of what it can do.
  • I spoke of how cool the use of Over is with rownumber, but here is an article where the guy is improving on top.  I have to admit the things that are in SQL 2005 and newer from just a T-SQL standpoint are pretty sweet.  They make writing some of the useless looping logic that permiated all aspects of my “business logic” a much easier task. Shows how long I have been doing XML and Integration that I have not spent any large amounts of time learning these new features (which are not so new at the time I am writing this) http://www.sqlmag.com/Articles/ArticleID/49240/49240.html?Ad=1
  • Hiding the Results Pane (or should I say pain?) in the SQL 2005 Management Studio is something I have wanted for quite some time.  I have always liked being able to have a full screen for editing my T-SQL script.  I have finally figured out how to make this happen thanks to this guy here.  http://www.jjerome.com/projects/2007/04/showhide-results-pane-sql-server-2005.html
  • To output a null date to a FlatFile Schema in Biztalk set the format of the date field to yyyyMMdd.  Then use the pad character to zero fill if you need. Beautiful
March 7, 2008 - Posted by | BizTalk, T-SQL, What I Learned Yesterday

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

