Ben Runchey’s Integration Dev Blog

a.k.a Ben’s spot to put stuff he does not want to forget

What I Learned Yesterday 10

  • Found a great tool for exporting data from existing SQL Server Tables to a script – The SQL Scripter!  What a clever name.  You can find it at http://www.sqlscripter.com/
  • Looking into Ruby on Rails these days for a potential project and I have to say WOW!  this environment is really productive.  Just in the short time that I have spent with it I can tell it was written with how a developer needs to work as it’s main goal.  The strict MVC support, ActiveRecord for the ORM layer, and the built in support for unit testing.  While I really like it, I still really thing .NET and the CLR/DLR is the best of both worlds.  I have not had a chance to see the MVC support in the most recent version of ASP.NET (3 or 3.5, can’t remember), but my advice to Microsoft is to start building your tools to utilize your frameworks with the developer in mind.  I think that is reason number 1 why people are raving about Ruby.  The productivity in this environment is sweet!
  • What is with the script task in SQL Server Integration Services?  I would like to find out why it is not possible to just access any global variable inside of my script task!  For some reason, very smart people like to make me declare what global variables I am going to need access to before I can use them in the code.  I hope they change this in the next version!
  • I have pretty much decided to go with XSL Transformations instead of the biztalk mapper for any maps which start to get complicated for two reasons.
    • First reason is development time.  I can code XSL much faster than I can trial and error my way through using the functoids available.  Also the lack of a simple if then else type functoid can sometimes frustrate me to no end.
    • Being able to debug an XSL is easier when it is written using variable names that have context. 
April 19, 2008 - Posted by | BizTalk, Ruby on Rails, T-SQL, What I Learned Yesterday

1 Comment »

  1. Yes RoR is very nice. The ASP.NET MVC framework is not that mature yet. The PHP syfmony framework is pretty amazing as well.

    Comment by DotNet Guru | April 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

